Skip to main content

New River Valley Planning District Commission


Historical Note

The New River Valley Planning District is one of twenty one planning districts in Virginia whose commissions are chartered under Virginia law. Also known as PDC 4, the organization encompasses the counties of Floyd, Giles, Montgomery, and Pulaski, and the City of Radford.

The commission serves the local governments in the area and their citizenry by providing a number of different services ranging from economic development to regional recycling. The purpose of the planning district commission is to promote regional cooperation, to coordinate the activities and policies of member local governments, and to provide planning assistance to local governments. The commission is financed by a combination of local, state, and federal funds.

Information from the "About New River Valley Planning District Commission" website:

NRVPDC homepage:

Found in 2 Collections and/or Records:

Environmental and Cultural Features of Montgomery County

 Collection — Object: 1
Identifier: Map-0304

Map shows environmental and cultural features of Montgomery County, Virginia, with a legend. Reverse of map details various environmental and cultural items of interest within Montgomery County, Virginia. Supplemental sheet lists references for the map.

Dates: 1982

New River Valley Planning District Commission Records,

Identifier: Ms-1998-024

The New River Valley Planning District Commission records consist of reports, files, and other literature gathered and used by the commission to aid their planning for the New River Valley of Virginia.

Dates: 1959-1991, n.d.

Additional filters:

Maps (documents) 1
Montgomery County (Va.) 1
Virginia -- Maps 1