Skip to main content

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. Office of the President


Historical Note

One of the first tasks of the Board of Visitors appointed by the Governor in 1872 was to select and appoint a president for the fledgling institution then known as Virginia Agricultural and Mechanical College. At their meeting at Yellow Sulphur Springs on 14 August 1872, the Board chose Charles Landon Carter Minor as that first chief executive officer.

Since its opening in 1872, the institution has had fourteen different presidents: Charles L.C. Minor (1872-79); John L. Buchanan (1880-81); Thomas N. Conrad (1882-86); Lindsay L. Lomax (1886-91); John M. McBryde (1891-1907); Paul B. Barringer (1907-13); Joseph D. Eggleston (1913-19); Julian A. Burruss (1919-45); John R. Hutcheson (1945-47); Walter S. Newman (1947-62); Thomas M. Hahn (1962-74); William E. Lavery (1975-87); James D. McComas (1988-93); Paul E. Torgersen (1994-2000); Charles W. Steger (2000-present).

Found in 2 Collections and/or Records:

Records of the Office of the President, Julian A. Burruss

 Record Group
Identifier: RG-02-08

The bulk of the collection contains correspondence concerning Julian Ashby Burruss' tenure as president of Virginia Polytechnic Institute, as well as lecture notes, reports to the Board of Trustees of the State Normal School, and Experiment Station reports.

Dates: 1906 - 1946

Records of the Office of the President, James D. McComas

Identifier: RG-02-14

This collection contains public letters and memoranda from Virginia Tech President, James D. McComas, from 1989 to 1991 to the university community as well as records regarding McComas's 1988 inauguration. McComas (1928-1994) was the thirteenth President of Virginia Tech, serving from 1988 to 1994.

Dates: 1988 - 1991

Additional filters:

Women -- History 1