Skip to main content

Morgan, Berry, 1919-2002



  • Existence: 1919 - 2002

Biographical Note

Berry Morgan was born in Port Gibson, Mississippi in 1919. Her first book was Pursuit, published in 1966. Pursuit was followed by The Mystic Adventures of Roxie Stoner in 1974. These two novels were together know as the Certain Shadows series and won her the Houghton Mifflin Literary Fellowship. Morgan also worked for The New Yorker from 1966 to 1988 and was involved in the Civil Rights Movement in Mississippi.

Sources: "Mississippi Writers: Berry Morgan",

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

Berry Morgan Galley Proofs

Identifier: Ms-1969-002

This collection contains the author's proof of Berry Morgan's novel, Pursuit (1966).

Dates: 1966