Skip to main content

Kristine Fallon Prize Records, 2022 -

Identifier: Ms-2023-028

Scope and Content

Materials in this collection are a mixture of hardcopy and electronic files created by Kristine Fallon Prize applicants. The records include winning first-round proposals and submissions (first-stage prize recipients) and winning final projects (second/final stage prize recipients) for each cycle.


  • 2022-

Conditions Governing Access

The collection is open for research.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use

Copyright restrictions apply.

Biographical / Historical

The Kristine Fallon Prize is a two-stage juried research award that takes place in two-year cycles. It calls for proposals researching a woman or women architects at a large firm or firms, or worked in higher education or government in the second half of the twentieth century. The prize grants a $500 award to up to five proposal submissions and a $5000 award to the final selected research project. The final output of the successful proposal is a publication-ready manuscript in the form of an article, book chapter, dissertation, or exhibition catalog.

The Kristine Fallon Prize was created in 2021 and endowed by Kristine Fallon, former architect, consultant, writer, IAWA donor, and member of the IAWA Board of Advisors. A guide to her collection can be found here.

The Prize is ongoing and accruals are expected annually.


1.25 mb (5 .pdf files)

.5 Cubic Feet

Language of Materials



Materials in this collection are a mixture of hardcopy and electronic submissions, including .pdf files created by selected applicants and award recipients. The files in this collection consist of winning first-round proposals, final submissions for selected proposals, and final award winning pieces.


The files are grouped into two series: successful first-stage submissions (winning proposals and the reports they produce) and final awardees. Series are then ordered by year and author surname. Due to the fact that the prize was restructured after the first submission cycle, there are no proposals for the 2022-2023 cycle, there is only a record of the final project, awarded to Aaron Cayer in March 2023.

Source of Acquisition

The first donation in this collection was transferred by Donna Dunay to Special Collections and University Archives in May 2023. Materials are transferred on an ongoing annual basis by IAWA Board of Advisors representatives.

Rights Statement for Archival Description

The guide to the Kristine Fallon Prize Records by Special Collections and University Archives, Virginia Tech, is licensed under a CC0 (

Processing Information

The processing, arrangement, and description of the Kristine Fallon Prize Records was completed in May 2023. Accruals expected annually.

A Guide to the Kristine Fallon Prize Records, 2022 -
Jade Snelling
2023 (CC0 1.0)
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections and University Archives, Virginia Tech Repository

Special Collections and University Archives, University Libraries (0434)
560 Drillfield Drive
Newman Library, Virginia Tech
Blacksburg Virginia 24061 US